Friday, July 15, 2011

Security Guard License Fees

Though both armed and unarmed officers undergo security guard training, the training for the unarmed security guard is less demanding than that of the armed officer. Both guards must receive training in crisis prevention, contracting law enforcement, report writing as well as handling evidence and first aid. There are times when an employer requires their security officers to have police training or a degree in criminal justice. If you don’t have this, then you can look for schools that feature security guard training to have this requirement.

If you don’t have a license, there are two ways in which you can acquire them. This is thru online application and the normal processing of the license.

The security guard license fee may start at $50 but it also varies in every state, for example:

·         Colorado               – Application Fee $60 with $30 investigation fee every year
·         Connecticut          – Application Fee $50 with fingerprint fee $19.25
·         Delaware               – Application Fee $69 with Registration fee $20
·         Florida                   – Application Fee $45 with Fingerprint $42
·         Hawaii                   – Application Fee $60

Also, keep in mind that in mind that each state requires an 8 hour course to train and examinations to pass. Passing your fingerprints to the Department of Justice and FBI also requires certain fees so make sure you have checked the amount of fees you are paying that your state requires. For online application, an amount of $1 may be added as part of the convenience fee.

No comments:

Post a Comment